Home / Home / Accueil / LEAP launches new working group – « Euroland Governance 2020 »: completing the Eurozone’s institutional embryo, securing its democratic articulation

LEAP launches new working group – « Euroland Governance 2020 »: completing the Eurozone’s institutional embryo, securing its democratic articulation

For some twenty years, the building and management of Europe took place in the framework of the European Union (EU) which replaced in 1992 the previous framework, called European Community. This framework is now breathless. Questioned by member-states and citizens alike, attacked on every front, it endangers the European project as a whole.

However Europe is overcoming a major historical crisis in which the collapse of its common currency and various economies had been predicted. This success belongs to an institutional mechanism born from the crisis, Euroland, made of the ECB, EuroGroup, Euro Summits and EMS. This mechanism of operational: it is it, and not the EU, which brought / is bringing solutions to the great blows cast on Europe by the global systemic crisis.

Despite this technical success, a political crisis comes as a result of the lack of clarity surrounding decision making processes. The Europeans have ceased to understand how Europe functions. Lost amidst European Commission, IMF, EuroGroup and national governments, stampeded by a crisis hoovering their purchasing power, and more than even banned from any participation to decision-making mechanisms, they have fallen prey to xenophobic and anti-European populist movements.

It is therefore vital for Europe to start from fresh on a sound basis, which, this time, Europeans must be associated to. Indeed this democracy we are aiming for in the wake of Franck Biancheri1, we are not demanding it as a disinterested gift from decision-makers for moral, cultural or historical reasons; we are demanding it because it is the political tool, lever or weight capable of triggering the historical changes needed.

LEAP wishes to address this challenge consisting of acknowledging this Euroland sovereign framework, its operational efficiency and its political limitations, and to inaugurate the needed stage of political integration on this basis, completing Euroland’s institutional embryo and writing « democracy » in golden letters on the project’s terms and conditions.

Thus the « Euroland Gouvernance 2020 » working group has the following objectives:

. to make known this solution that national media and politicians struggle to see,

. to contribute to the debate on the construction of this new stage of Europe launcher,

. and to make sure that democracy is part of the construction’s programme.

To this end, LEAP is implementing:

. a regular flow of articles on its new « Euroland Gouvernance 2020 » websection: http://www.leap2020.net/category/euroland/

. a newsletter aimed in priority at European and national deputies and civil servants from the Eurozone (twice a month) – Subscribe to info@leap2020.eu (Subject: Subscribe Euroland Governance 2020 Newsletter)

. seminars on how to complete the young Euroland institutional framework bearing in mind its democratic articulation

——

1Franck Biancheri who eversince 1985 and the creation by him of the first European student association, AEGEE-Europe, and until he died prematurely on October 30th 2012 at the age of 51, fought relentlessly for the democratisation of Europe.

About Marie Hélène

Accueil / Accueil / Home / LEAP lance le groupe de travail « Euroland Gouvernance 2020 » : Compléter l’embryon institutionnel de la zone Euro, en assurer l’articulation démocratique

LEAP lance le groupe de travail « Euroland Gouvernance 2020 » : Compléter l’embryon institutionnel de la zone Euro, en assurer l’articulation démocratique

Pendant une vingtaine d’années, la construction et la gestion de l’Europe s’est faite dans le cadre de l’Union européenne (UE) qui a remplacé en 1992 le précédent, appelé Communauté européenne. Ce cadre est à bout de souffle aujourd’hui. Remis en question autant par ses Etats-Membres que par ses citoyens, attaqué de toutes parts, il met en danger l’ensemble du projet européen.

Pourtant l’Europe traverse avec succès une crise historique majeure dans laquelle il lui a été prédit effondrement de sa monnaie et de ses économies. Ce succès est celui d’un mécanisme institutionnel né de la crise, l’Euroland, composé de la BCE, de l’EuroGroupe, des Sommets de l’Euro et du MES. Ce mécanisme est opérationnel : c’est lui, et non le cadre UE, qui a apporté / apporte des solutions aux grands chocs encaissés par l’Europe dans le cadre de la crise systémique globale.

Malgré ce succès technique, une crise politique s’ensuit, résultat du flou qui a entouré les prises de décision. Les peuples européens ont cessé de comprendre comment fonctionnait l’Europe. Perdus entre Commission européenne, FMI, EuroGroupe et gouvernements nationaux, affolés par une crise qui ponctionne leur pouvoir d’achat, et toujours barrés de toute participation aux mécanismes décisionnels, ils sont désormais la proie des populistes xénophobes et anti-Européens.

Il est vital pour l’Europe de repartir sur de nouvelles bases auxquelles, cette fois, les Européens doivent être pleinement associés. Car cette démocratie que nous appelons de nos vœux dans le sillage laissé par Franck Biancheri1, nous ne la réclamons pas seulement comme un cadeau désintéressé que doivent nous faire les décideurs pour des raisons morales, culturelles ou historiques ; nous la réclamons parce qu’elle est l’outil, le levier, le poids politique permettant d’enclencher les évolutions historiques qui s’imposent.

Le défi auquel LEAP se propose de faire face consiste à prendre acte de ce nouveau cadre opérationnel et souverain qu’est l’Euroland, de son efficacité opérationnelle et de ses limites politiques, et à inaugurer l’étape d’intégration politique de l’Europe sur cette nouvelle base, en complétant l’embryon institutionnel eurolandais et en inscrivant son articulation démocratique en lettres d’or au cahier des charges du projet.

Ainsi le groupe de travail « Euroland Gouvernance 2020 » a-t-il pour triple objectif de :

. faire connaître cette piste de solution que médias et politiques nationaux peinent à voir,

. contribuer à la réflexion sur l’élaboration de ce nouvel étage de la fusée Europe,

. et s’assurer que la démocratie est bien eu programme de la construction.

Pour ce faire, LEAP met en place :

. un flux d’articles réguliers sur la base de sa nouvelle section web « Euroland Gouvernance 2020 »: http://www.leap2020.net/category/euroland/

. une newsletter adressée en priorité aux parlementaires et fonctionnaires européens et nationaux de la zone Euro (deux fois par mois) – Inscriptions : info@leap2020.eu (Sujet : Subscribe Euroland Governance 2020 Newsletter)

. des séminaires de réflexion sur les compléments à apporter au jeune cadre institutionnel eurolandais avec le souci de son articulation démocratique

———-

1Franck Biancheri qui depuis 1985 et la création par lui de la première association d’Etudiants européens, AEGEE-Europe, jusqu’à sa mort prématurée le 30 octobre 2012 à l’âge de 51 ans, n’a cessé de se battre par tous les moyens possibles à cette fin de démocratisation européenne.

À propos Marie Hélène