Home / Home / Accueil / A possible European and global political-institutional landscape in 2053, by M.-H. Caillol

A possible European and global political-institutional landscape in 2053, by M.-H. Caillol

(excerpt from the publication One Day in 2053, published in 2013 by Anticipolis)

The crisis we are going through is not just a short-term economic crisis. This is a crisis that we have identified as historical since the beginning. In February 2006, we characterized it as challenging “the world as it had been conceived at the end of the Second World War”. But soon, we realized that it was in fact questioning the European world that was invented during the Renaissance with the great discoveries more than 500 years ago.

In fact, we are emerging from a 5 “European” century era (including in its American or Soviet avatars) into a multipolar world. This process has been ongoing for some twenty years, but we are currently in the final stages of this multi-polarization, with its cohort of difficulties – linked in particular to the integration of this new reality into the institutions of global governance.

This multi-polarization of the world calls into question the whole system that we Europeans have invented over the past centuries and decades. The new world has yet to be organized as harmoniously as possible and 2053 will depend on the success of this reorganization. And just because the world will no longer be singularly European does not mean that we Europeans will not have to continue to contribute to it; Europe even has a particular responsibility in participating to the invention of the future world, if it wants to remain a major player.

Towards which global governance are we heading?

With regard to the functioning of the current institutions of global governance (“UN” system in the broad sense), we have quite recently come to the conclusion that there is no possible reform and ultimately no desirable reform because the entire UN system is dated, totally rooted in a 20th century world and structurally incapable of integrating the complexity of the emerging multipolar world.

For example, even if we succeed – which is very unlikely[1] –  in changing the composition of the UN Security Council by adding Brazil, Mercosur, the African Union or South Africa (Editor’s note: to be placed in the context of 2013), does not mean that we have really put the UN back in the position of keeping the world in order.

This conclusion leads us to another one: we must therefore completely reinvent global governance adapted to the completely new characteristics of the post-crisis global systemic world.

We believe that the models that already exist today and on which the world of tomorrow must / will be built are:

. on the one hand, the European model: LEAP affirms what is obvious to the rest of the planet but that Europeans themselves have a problem understanding, namely that the European integration process conducted over the past 60 years is a real reference, relevant not only for other regional integration experiences (African Union, MERCOSUR, ASEAN, etc…) but in the invention of tomorrow’s global governance.

. on the other hand, the BRICS model: it is indeed an innovative experience consisting of a club of countries sharing objectives and deciding to join forces, at least occasionally, to join forces for common purposes; in this case, this common purpose constituting the primary driving force behind the BRICS association is precisely the reform of global governance in favour of the integration of emerging countries into international decision-making mechanisms.

These two models of political organization (“political” because they increase the “power to do”) make it possible to imagine the next system of global governance as a network of diverse and varied components: nations, integrated regional entities (e. g. the African Union), integrated regional sub-entities (e. g. ECOWAS), trans-national “clubs” of interest (BRICS type). Unlike the de facto pyramid system that characterizes the UN model of global governance, a networked system will integrate the structural complexity of tomorrow’s world.

This global network composed of the various building blocks of the global organization will be led by coordination mechanisms (e. g. Global Coordination Secretariat – GCS – on issues related to nuclear waste management,etc…), light structures (composed of a small number of employees compared to the current overwhelming system), flexible/agile structures (likely to be shut, especially if they are linked to the implementation of a specific project; e. g: GCS of anti-personnel mine clearance), thematic (food, trade, nuclear… security) and variable geometry (grouping entities wishing to join the project in question).

There will of course be Secretariats more central than others (super-secretariats), ensuring the proper functioning of the entire system, but it will essentially be a decentralized, de facto polycentric system.

This system will incorporate modern communication methods (Internet, airplane, and everything that will exist in 2053 in this field) and will avoid large groups of employees gathered in localized Babel towers (New York, Geneva…). Conversely, the people employed in this network will work remotely, and may even participate in a GCS as employees of a specific national or regional entity.

We imagine a gradual and empirical implementation of this type of governance over the period 2015-2025. Of course, this mode of organization will still be in place in 2053.

The Global: Towards a basket of currencies as an international reserve currency

As part of our work on the crisis, we have also addressed the issue of the international monetary system, the current one being considered largely responsible for the global problems we are facing. Since 2009, we have identified as a key to ending the crisis the creation of a new international reference currency based on a basket of currencies of the powers representing the world economy (US Dollar, Euro, Yuan, Rouble, Real,…), which could be called “Global”, the first multipolar currency, based on the reality of global economy and as such legitimate to serve as its currency of exchange. Such an evolution is desirable from now on. Large players (China, BRICS,…) have been working to move in this direction. Unfortunately, for the time being, we are seeing that other players essential to the decisions needed to start the process are blocking everything. There is therefore a return to regional currencies for the time being, with the process of internationalization of the Yuan (a process that depends on no one other than China) to be seen as a useful step towards the creation of a basket of currencies.

In any case, by 2053, it is certain that we will have moved on to something other than the US dollar and this other thing, we anticipate that it will look very much like a kind of global Euro.

Globalisation, protectionism, at what stage of the cycle shall we be in 2053?

Over a shorter period (2015-20), we anticipate a certain de-globalization in favour of an intensification of intra-regional trade (ASEAN, Mercosur, EU, AU…). Overall, trade flows will probably increase, but their distribution will continue to restructure geographically. Distrust of free trade agreements between major regions will be the rule over the next decade. But by 2053, a renewed world governance, having learned the lessons of the excesses of 20th century globalisation, will restore sufficient confidence to allow a “reasoned” reopening of trade by 2053.

Democratization processes in the world by 2053

At first glance, we can imagine a world in 2053 whose increasing complexity, population densities and the prevalence of new political models from Asia will probably lead to a hardening of political systems. This hardening is already underway: in the 1970s, Western society was much freer than it is now. Things are certainly not going to get any better.

But this point of view (on a democratic retreat) is in fact a Western point of view. There is in fact every reason to be quite optimistic if we calculate democracy on a global scale. Since the fall of the Iron Curtain, democracy has already made great strides in the world (Russia, Central and Eastern Europe). In India, South America and even Africa, there has been real progress, not to say in some cases the emergence of new models of democracy. The remaining areas of shadows (North Korea, Saudi Arabia, China) are destined to open up.

China, the central actor of tomorrow’s world, seems particularly reluctant on this issue. But a China that is developing its internal market, seeing a middle class emerge, and therefore an aspiration for happiness and freedom, knows that the connection of its political system with its citizens is obviously on the agenda in the coming decades. But when you have behind you a 5000 years old civilization, you know how to use time.

On the more institutional aspect, by 2053, the top of the democratic edifice will have moved from the national to the supranational level. Representatives of the peoples of Europe, South America, Africa, Asia… will be elected directly by universal suffrage or something equivalent. We will therefore have a supranational democracy articulated with the national, regional and local levels of democracy. The debate in 2053 will probably be on how to democratize the global level.

Incidentally, it is up to us Europeans to initiate this democratisation of supra-national entities. This would be the logical conclusion to having initiated this regional integration process: achieving democratised regional integration models, including citizens’ involvement in decision-making mechanisms.

We can then imagine a world that will be led by a dozen or so VGLs (Very Great Leaders), who will meet regularly to make major decisions on the basis of real popular mandates. These VGLs will initially represent a mix of regional entities and large nations (United States, China…). That said, on our way to 2053, it is likely that we will have witnessed processes of geopolitical dislocation of large countries (organized or not) re-federated as supra-regional entities (e. g. the Reunion of Chinese Countries instead of China).

Finally, the Internet should make it possible to democratize sectoral decisions (by professions, cultural groups, etc…), which will certainly be combined with the democratic structure described above. We will thus obtain a “complexified” but operational democratic system composed of the traditional hierarchical levels (supranational, national, local…) and transversal mechanisms of citizen consultation, who will also have the possibility of electing their representatives by sector of activity and life.

What with the United States?

A word about the United States before moving on to Europe. This country has the most to lose in this global transition, namely its first place. But they have even more to lose in their resistance to change. First, we see how they are becoming economically exhausted in having to support the global economy to preserve the pre-eminent role of their currency. This effort, which literally crushes American society, creates enormous political tensions. The US structure is already being challenged at the moment, with states like Texas and others reflecting on the conditions that must be met to be able to secede. The dislocation tendencies of the union of the United States are therefore already present. They will be followed by a major political hardening (of the type of army takeover) in the second half of the 10’s, early 20’s maximum, with possibly a phenomenon of a quasi- “iron curtain” falling on the country. But this hardening will allow to block for a moment only the inevitable process of division-recomposition of the country. Thus, we hope that in 2053, the United States will be out of the black rut it has already entered.

What Europe in 2053?

In terms of governance, the European Commission and the entire EU framework that presided over the main orientations of the European project in the 1990s and 2000s, as in the case of the UN, will still be there but will no longer have much importance or influence. The new European executive framework will have been reconstituted on the basis of the Euro zone.

This development is already under way: isn’t the ECB and the Eurogroup taking the important decisions concerning the Euro zone – the group of European states bound by the highest degree of integration, for which it is therefore the most imperative to implement an effective framework for problem-solving and strategic guidance. The Euro has de facto created a new “Sovereign”, a Euroland, which already has an embryonic institutional architecture (a central bank, an executive mechanism,…) that has yet to be completed… and democratised.

Towards which Europe will this institutional system take us? By 2053, Euroland will have regained the size of the EU; the United Kingdom, which will have been a separate entity for some time (Editor’s note: to be placed in the context of 2013!!), will have returned to the fold (under continental conditions this time); in total, Euroland will probably even count more states than the current EU, not so much because it will have expanded geographically, but because some of its members will have divided following requests for regional independence (Catalonia, Scotland…. the former may even trigger a real wave).

Concerning the institutional geography of Europe, about ten years ago, LEAP launched the Euro-Rings project, which advocated a polycentralisation of the European institutions, that we felt should be taken out of their Brussels ghetto at all costs and distributed in the major symbolic European capitals (including Brussels, of course), with the aim of bringing them closer to European citizens and more generally to reality. This visionary project, which would inevitably have gone hand in hand with the in-depth reform of European governance that is so lacking in today’s Europe, has of course not found the political leaders to support it and has therefore remained a dead letter to date (worse, the European Parliament is struggling to refocus on Brussels).

However by 2053, and as part of the transfer from EU to Euroland governance, European institutional geography will be deployed over different power poles throughout Europe. Isn’t the ECB, the original institution of Euroland, in Frankfurt and not Brussels?

In democratic matters, there will be a political staff (individual or team) elected on the basis of single constituency elections in charge of Euroland (hopefully even as early as 2019 – Editor’s note: to be placed in the context of 2013).

What obstacles on the road to 2053?

Finally, let us consider the obstacles that may arise in the way of this scenario.

The geopolitical tensions inherent in the transformation of the current world can undeniably turn into conflicts, or even globalized conflict, by the end of the decade. There are also significant risks of democratic breakdown in the West, particularly in the United States but also in Europe.

The good news is that by 2053, these pitfalls related to the current crisis will be behind us anyway. However, we anticipate that with or without major disruptions (geopolitical or democratic), the future we are heading towards will look like the one presented above. The disruptions will only be attempts to slow down or accelerate the inevitable process of multipolarization of the world and its organization.

For sure 2053 will not be the same depending on whether we have gone there thanks to the good decisions taken by our leaders or through wars and major disasters, but on these aspects of multipolarity, governance characteristics, democratic functioning, etc… the world of 2053 will probably not be very far from what has just been presented.

In any case, it is good to keep in mind that 2053 will be what we do with it every day.

————

[1] It is Europe, once again, that holds the key to a recomposition of the Security Council, in particular by abandoning its two French and British seats in favour of a single European seat, which would open up the prospects for a Security Council composed of large regional entities of comparable size. But it is not now that the English are about to leave the EU that such a development is likely to happen (Editor’s note: to be placed in the 2013 context).

About Marie Hélène

Accueil / Accueil / Home / Un paysage politico-institutionnel européen et mondial possible en 2053, par M.-H. Caillol

Un paysage politico-institutionnel européen et mondial possible en 2053, par M.-H. Caillol

(extrait de la publication Une journée en 2053, publiée en 2013 par Anticipolis)

La crise que nous traversons n’est pas juste une crise économique conjoncturelle. C’est une crise que nous avons depuis l’origine identifiée comme historique. En février 2006, nous l’avons caractérisée comme remettant en cause le monde tel qu’il avait été conçu au sortir de la 2nde guerre mondiale. Mais assez vite, nous nous sommes aperçus qu’on était en fait sur une remise en question du monde européen qui s’est inventé à la Renaissance avec les grandes découvertes il y plus de 500 ans.

En réalité nous sommes en train de sortir d’une ère de 5 siècles « européens » (y compris dans ses avatars américains ou soviétiques) pour passer à un monde multipolaire. Ce processus est en cours depuis une vingtaine d’années mais nous vivons actuellement les dernières phases de réalisation de cette multi-polarisation, avec sa cohorte de difficultés liées notamment à l’intégration de cette nouvelle réalité dans les institutions de la gouvernance mondiale.

Cette multi-polarisation du monde remet en cause l’ensemble du système que nous Européens, avons inventé au cours des siècles et décennies passées. Le nouveau monde reste à organiser le plus harmonieusement possible et 2053 dépendra du succès de cette réorganisation. Et ce n’est pas parce que le monde ne sera plus singulièrement européen, que nous, Européens, ne devrons pas continuer à y contribuer ; l’Europe a même une responsabilité particulière dans l’invention du monde demain, surtout si elle veut en rester un acteur majeur.

Vers quelle gouvernance mondiale tendons-nous ?

Concernant le fonctionnement des institutions actuelles de la gouvernance mondiale (système « onusien » au sens large), nous sommes assez récemment arrivés à la conclusion qu’il n’y en avait pas de réforme possible et finalement même pas de réforme souhaitable parce que tout le système onusien est daté, totalement ancré dans un monde du XXème siècle et structurellement incapable d’intégrer la complexité du monde multipolaire naissant.

A titre d’exemple, ce n’est pas parce que nous aurons réussi, ce qui est très peu probable [1], à modifier la composition du conseil de sécurité de l’ONU en rajoutant le Brésil, le Mercosur, l’Union Africaine ou l’Afrique du Sud (NdlR: à resituer dans le contexte 2013) qu’on aura réellement remis l’ONU dans la position de veiller au bon ordre de la planète.

Cette conclusion nous amène à une autre : il faut donc complètement réinventer une gouvernance mondiale adaptée aux caractéristiques tout à fait nouvelles du monde de l’après-crise systémique globale.

Or nous estimons que les tendances existant déjà aujourd’hui et sur la base desquelles le monde de demain doit/va se construire sont :

. d’une part, le modèle européen : LEAP affirme ce qui est une évidence pour le reste de la planète mais que les Européens eux-mêmes ont un peu de mal à comprendre, à savoir que le processus d’intégration européenne mené depuis 60 ans est une véritable référence, pertinente non seulement pour d’autres expériences d’intégration régionale (Union Africaine, MERCOSUR, ASEAN, etc…) mais dans l’invention de la gouvernance mondiale de demain.

. d’autre part, le modèle BRICS : il s’agit en effet d’une expérience innovante consistant en un club de pays partageant des objectifs et décidant de s’associer, ponctuellement au moins, pour unir leurs forces à des fins communes ; en l’occurrence cette fin commune constituant le moteur premier de l’association des BRICS, c’est précisément la réforme de la gouvernance mondiale en faveur de l’intégration des pays émergents dans les mécanismes de décision internationale.

Ces deux modèles d’organisation politique (« politique » parce qu’augmentant le « pouvoir-faire ») permettent d’imaginer le prochain système de gouvernance mondiale comme un réseau de composantes diverses et variées : nations, entités régionales intégrées (ex : Union Africaine), sous-entités régionales intégrées (ex : CEDEAO), « clubs » trans-nationaux d’intérêt (type BRICS). A l’inverse du système de facto pyramidal qui caractérise le modèle onusien de gouvernance mondiale, un système en réseau permettra d’intégrer la complexité structurelle du monde de demain.

Ce réseau mondial composé des diverses briques constitutives de l’organisation planétaire sera animé par des instances de coordination (ex : Secrétariat de Coordination Globale – SCG – des questions liées à la gestion des déchets nucléaires,…), structures légères (composées d’un petit nombre d’employés en comparaison avec le système pléthorique actuel), souples (susceptibles d’être fermées, en particulier si elles sont liées à la réalisation d’un projet précis ; ex : SCG du nettoyage des mines anti-personnel), thématisées (sécurité alimentaire, commerce, nucléaire…) et à géométrie variable (ne regroupant que les entités désireuses de s’associer au projet en question).

Il y aura bien sûr des Secrétariats plus centraux que d’autres (super-secrétariats), veillant au bon fonctionnement de l’ensemble du système mais ce sera essentiellement un système décentralisé, de facto polycentrique.

Ce système actera les méthodes modernes de communication (internet, avion, et tout ce qui existera en 2053 dans ce domaine) et évitera les grands regroupements d’employés en tours de Babel localisées (New-York, Genève…). A l’inverse, les personnes employées dans ce réseau travailleront à distance, susceptibles même de participer à un SCG en tant qu’employé d’une entité nationale ou régionale précise.

Nous imaginons une mise en place graduelle et empirique de ce type de gouvernance sur la période 2015-2025. Bien évidemment, ce mode d’organisation, sera toujours d’actualité en 2053.

Le Global : Vers un panier de monnaies en guise de monnaie de réserve internationale

Dans le cadre de nos travaux sur la crise, nous avons également abordé la question du système monétaire international, l’actuel étant jugé largement responsable des problèmes mondiaux que nous traversons. Depuis 2009, nous avons identifié comme clé de sortie de crise la création d’une nouvelle monnaie de référence internationale sur la base d’un panier des monnaies des puissances représentatives de l’économie mondiale (Dollar US, Euro, Yuan, Rouble, Real,…), qui pourrait s’appeler le « Global », première monnaie multipolaire, appuyée sur la réalité de l’économie mondiale et à ce titre légitime à lui servir de monnaie d’échange. Une telle évolution est souhaitable dès aujourd’hui, de gros acteurs (Chine, BRICS, …) se sont employés à engager les choses dans cette direction ; malheureusement, on constate pour le moment que d’autres acteurs indispensables aux décisions qui s’imposent pour enclencher le processus bloquent tout. On observe donc pour le moment un repli sur les monnaies régionales, avec notamment le processus d’internationalisation du Yuan (processus qui ne dépend de personne d’autre que de la Chine) qui s’avère finalement une étape utile avant la création d’un panier de monnaies équilibrées entre elles.

Quoiqu’il en soit, en 2053, c’est certain, nous serons passés à autre chose qu’au dollar US et cet autre chose, nous anticipons qu’elle ressemblera fort à une sorte d’Euro global.

Globalisation, protectionnisme, à quel stade du cycle en serons-nous en 2053 ?

Sur un horizon plus court (2015-20), nous anticipons une certaine dé-globalisation au profit d’une intensification des échanges intra-régionaux (ASEAN, Mercosur, UE, UA…). Au total les flux d’échanges vont probablement augmenter mais leur répartition va continuer à se restructurer géographiquement. Une méfiance vis-à-vis des traités de libre-échange entre grandes régions sera la règle au cours de la prochaine décennie. Mais, d’ici 2053, une gouvernance mondiale rénovée, ayant appris les leçons des excès de la globalisation du XXème siècle, ramènera la confiance suffisante pour une réouverture « raisonnée » des échanges commerciaux à l’horizon 2053.

Des processus de démocratisation dans le monde à l’horizon 2053

Au premier abord, on imagine un monde en 2053 dont la complexité croissante, les densités de population et la prégnance de nouveaux modèles politiques venus d’Asie, aboutiront probablement à un durcissement des systèmes politiques. Ce durcissement est déjà en cours d’ailleurs : dans les années 70, la société occidentale était beaucoup plus libre que maintenant. Or les choses ne vont certainement pas s’arranger.

Mais ce point de vue (sur un recul démocratique) est en fait un point de vue occidental. Il y a en réalité tout lieu d’être assez optimiste si l’on calcule la démocratie à l’échelle planétaire. Depuis la chute du Rideau de Fer, la démocratie a déjà énormément progressé dans le monde (Russie, Europe centrale et orientale). En Inde, en Amérique du Sud, jusqu’en Afrique, on constate de vrais progrès, pour ne pas dire dans certains cas l’émergence de nouveaux modèles de démocratie. Les zones d’ombres qui subsistent (Corée du Nord, Arabie Saoudite, Chine) sont vouées à s’ouvrir.

L’acteur central du monde de demain qu’est la Chine, semble particulièrement réticent sur ce thème. Mais une Chine qui développe son marché intérieur, voit émerger une classe moyenne, et donc une aspiration au bonheur et à la liberté, sait que la connexion de son système politique avec les citoyens est évidemment au programme des prochaines décennies. Mais lorsqu’on a derrière soit une civilisation vieille de 5000 ans, on sait  prendre le temps.

Sur l’aspect plus institutionnel, à l’horizon 2053, le sommet de l’édifice démocratique sera passé du niveau national au niveau supranational. On élira des représentants des peuples européen, sud-américain, africain, asiatique… directement au suffrage universel ou quelque chose d’équivalent. On aura donc une démocratie supranationale articulée avec les niveaux nationaux, régionaux et locaux de démocratie. Le débat en 2053 sera probablement de savoir comment démocratiser le niveau global.

Soit dit en passant, cette démocratisation des entités supra-nationales, c’est à nous Européens de l’enclencher. Ce serait en effet la conclusion logique au fait d’avoir initié ce modèle d’intégration régionale : parvenir à des modèles d’intégration régionale démocratisés, avec implication des citoyens dans les décisions.

On imagine alors un monde qui sera dirigé par une dizaine-vingtaine de TGD (Très Grands Dirigeants), qui se réuniront régulièrement pour prendre de grandes décisions sur la base de véritables mandats populaires. Ces TGD représenteront dans un premier temps un mélange d’entités régionales et de grandes nations (Etats-Unis, Chine…). Cela dit, d’ici 2053, il est probable que nous aurons assisté à des processus de dislocation géopolitique des grands pays (organisée ou non) re-fédérés sous la forme d’entités supra-régionales (ex. la Réunion des Pays Chinois au lieu de la Chine).

Enfin, l’internet devrait rendre possible la démocratisation de décisions sectorielles (par professions, groupes culturels, etc… pour des décisions ne concernant qu’eux-mêmes) qui se combinera certainement à l’édifice démocratique décrit précédemment. Nous obtiendrons ainsi un système démocratique « complexifié » mais opérationnel composé des niveaux hiérarchiques classiques (supranational, national, local) et de mécanismes transversaux de consultation des citoyens qui auront également la possibilité d’élire leurs représentants par secteur d’activité et de vie.

Quid des Etats-Unis ?

Un mot sur les Etats-Unis avant d’aborder l’Europe. C’est le pays qui a le plus à perdre dans cette transition mondiale, à savoir la première place. Mais ils ont encore plus à perdre dans leur résistance au changement. Tout d’abord, on voit comme ils s’épuisent économiquement dans le fait de devoir soutenir l’économie mondiale pour préserver le rôle prééminent de leur monnaie. Cet effort qui écrase littéralement la société américaine créé des tensions politiques énormes. La structure Etats-Unis est déjà remise en question actuellement, avec des états comme le Texas et d’autres réfléchissant aux conditions à réunir pour pouvoir faire sécession. Les tendances à la dislocation de l’union des Etats-Unis sont donc déjà présentes.  Elles seront suivies d’un durcissement politique majeur (de type prise de contrôle par l’armée) vers la deuxième moitié des années 10, début des années 20 maximum, avec éventuellement un phénomène de quasi- « rideau de fer » tombant sur le pays. Mais ce durcissement ne permettra qu’un temps de bloquer l’inévitable processus de division-recomposition du pays. C’est ainsi que nous nous permettons d’espérer qu’en 2053, les Etats Unis seront sortis de cette ornière noire dans laquelle ils sont déjà entrés.

Quelle Europe en 2053 ?

En matière de gouvernance, la Commission européenne et tout le cadre UE qui a présidé aux grandes orientations du projet européen dans les années 1990 et 2000, tout comme dans le cas de l’ONU, seront toujours là mais n’auront plus beaucoup d’importance ou d’influence. Le nouveau cadre exécutif européen se sera reconstitué sur la base de la zone Euro.

Cette évolution est déjà en cours : c’est la BCE et l’Eurogroupe qui prennent les décisions importantes concernant la zone Euro, zone Euro qui est le groupe d’états européens liés par le plus fort degré d’intégration, pour lesquels donc il est le plus impérieux de mettre en œuvre un cadre efficace de résolution des problèmes et d’orientation stratégique. L’Euro a de facto créé un nouveau « Souverain », l’Euroland, d’ores et déjà doté d’un embryon d’architecture institutionnelle (une banque centrale, un mécanisme exécutif,…) qu’il reste à compléter… et à démocratiser.

Vers quelle Europe, ce système institutionnel nous emmènera-t-il ? D’ici 2053, l’Euroland aura repris la taille de l’UE ; le Royaume Uni, qui aura fait bande à part pendant quelques temps (NdlR: à resituer dans le contexte 2013), sera revenu dans le giron (aux conditions du continent cette fois) ; au total, l’Euroland sera même sans doute composé de davantage d’états que l’UE actuelle, non pas parce qu’elle se sera étendue géographiquement, mais parce que certains de ses membres se seront divisés suite à des demandes d’indépendance régionale (Catalogne, Ecosse… les premières risquent d’ailleurs de déclencher une vraie vague).

Concernant la géographie institutionnelle de l’Europe, il y a une dizaine d’années, LEAP lançait le projet Euro-Rings qui militait en faveur d’une polycentralisation des institutions européennes dont nous estimions qu’il fallait les sortir à tout prix de leur ghetto bruxellois pour les répartir dans les grandes capitales symboliques européennes (dont Bruxelles bien sûr aussi), au but notamment de les rapprocher des citoyens européens, et de manière plus générale de la réalité. Ce projet visionnaire, qui serait inévitablement allé de pair avec la réforme en profondeur de la gouvernance européenne  qui manque tant à l’Europe d’aujourd’hui, n’a bien sûr pas trouvé les leaders politiques pour le porter et est donc resté lettre morte à ce jour (pire, le Parlement européen se bat pour être recentré sur Bruxelles).

En revanche, d’ici 2053, et dans le cadre du transfert d’une gouvernance UE à une gouvernance Euroland, la géographie institutionnelle européenne se déploiera en différents pôles de pouvoir sur l’ensemble du territoire européen. La BCE, institution originelle de l’Euroland, n’est-elle pas elle-même à Francfort et non à Bruxelles ?

En matière démocratique, il y a aura directement un personnel politique (individu ou équipe) élu sur la base d’élections à circonscription unique  en charge de l’Euroland (espérons même dès 2019).

Quels obstacles sur la route vers 2053 ?

Pour finir, évoquons tout de même les obstacles qui risquent de surgir sur la voie de ce scenario.

Les tensions géopolitiques inhérentes à la transformation du monde en cours peuvent indéniablement dégénérer en conflits, voir en conflit globalisé, d’ici la fin de la décennie. D’importants risques de rupture démocratique pèsent également sur l’Occident, aux Etats-Unis en particulier mais aussi en Europe.

La bonne nouvelle, c’est que d’ici 2053, ces écueils liés à la crise en cours seront de toutes manières derrière nous. Or nous anticipons qu’avec ou sans grandes ruptures (géopolitiques ou démocratiques), l’avenir vers lequel nous nous dirigeons ressemblera à celui présenté ci-dessus. Les ruptures ne seront que des tentatives de ralentir ou d’accélérer l’inévitable processus de multipolarisation du monde et de son organisation.

Certes 2053 ne sera pas pareil selon qu’on y sera allé grâce aux bonnes prises décision de nos dirigeants ou à coup de guerres et de grandes catastrophes, mais sur ces aspects de multipolarité, de caractéristiques de gouvernance, de fonctionnement démocratique, le monde de 2053 ne sera probablement pas très loin de ce qui vient d’être présenté.

Dans tous les cas, il est bon de garder à l’esprit que 2053 sera ce que l’on en fait chaque jour.

————

[1] C’est l’Europe, là encore, qui détient la clé d’une recomposition du Conseil de Sécurité, notamment en abandonnant ses deux sièges français et britanniques au profit d’un siège unique européen, ce qui ouvrirait les perspectives d’un Conseil de Sécurité composé de grandes entités régionales de tailles comparables. Mais ce n’est plus maintenant que les Anglais sont sur le point de quitter l’UE qu’une telle évolution a des chances de voir le jour (NdlR: à resituer dans le contexte 2013).

 

À propos Marie Hélène