Home / Europe 2020 / Are leadership and democracy compatible at the trans-national level?

Are leadership and democracy compatible at the trans-national level?

by Marie-Hélène Caillol
24/10/2002

We are struck by the number of actors involved in international relations and by the general spirit that drives them, strongly inspired by the “secret service” culture: entrepreneurs, oil tycoons, arms dealers, drug dealers, diplomats, politicians, journalists, diverse and varied interest groups… it is to whom will have the most secret information, the most sophisticated analysis, the most devious “strategy”, the most powerful network… to advance a multitude of divergent interests..; and this, reproduced and multiplied by tens of thousands of actors, so much so that in the end nobody understands anything (including the so-called actors). Paranoia, anarchy, total lack of transparency and readability,…; everything is in place for a rapid and radical deterioration of international relations, against a backdrop of growing mistrust among the population for anything beyond the national level. The facts are there to convince us of this.

This raises the question of leadership at the global level in a salient way.

Indeed, despite the (oh so excusable!) mistrust carried by the West to all forms of leadership (“führership”) since 1945, it is undeniable that there can be no democratic system without “leadership”, accountable, transparent, identifiable and accessible. While the weakening of leadership at the national level is currently leading to a political crisis, the combination of leadership and democracy has yet to be invented at the transnational level in general and at the global level in a particularly urgent way.

In the absence of an answer to this question (i.e., an applied solution), America is putting in place the old-fashioned methods of leadership free of the democratic imperative of forcibly imposing the views of one. Meanwhile, Europeans are slipping on the last steps to complete the solution invented by Jean Monnet 50 years ago, finally coming up against the crucial question of the political leadership of an integrated trans-national economic entity. [1]

Does this mean that leadership and democracy are incompatible at the trans-national level? If that is the case, that is cause for concern for the future of mankind in this globalized world! Otherwise, it is imperative to find the solutions that can be guaranteed:

. that they are located on the side of Europe where a trans-national experience has been underway for 50 years (which gives us a particularly heavy responsibility); . and that they are in fact partially known but rendered inapplicable precisely because of the political crisis experienced at national level by the various EU Member States.

This reflection, which should have occupied European leaders during the very serene 1990s, is now taking place in a context of multiple crises (the need for reform in view of enlargement, the rise of nationalist extremism, the deterioration of the transatlantic relationship, the clash of Islam/Christian civilisations, the economic crisis, etc.).

The EU’s delay in establishing a European democracy as the first pillar (in the chronological sense) of a global democracy is therefore likely to cost the planet dearly!

1] “European governance”, “institutional reform of the EU”… so many politically correct denominations for a debate that will not lead to anything until Europeans overcome the taboo that characterizes their relationship to power.

About Comcart Collaborator

Accueil / Europe 2020 / Leadership et démocratie sont-ils compatibles au niveau trans-national?

Leadership et démocratie sont-ils compatibles au niveau trans-national?

par Marie-Hélène Caillol
24/10/2002

On est frappé par quantité d’acteurs impliqués dans les relations internationales et par l’esprit général qui les anime, fortement inspiré de culture type « services secrets » : entrepreneurs, magnats du pétrole, marchands d’armes, trafiquants de drogues, diplomates, politiques, journalistes, groupes d’intérêts divers et variés… c’est à qui aura l’information la plus secrète, l’analyse la plus finaude, la « stratégie » la plus retorse, le réseau le plus puissant… pour faire avancer une multitude d’intérêts divergents ; et ce, reproduit et multiplié par des dizaines de milliers d’acteurs, tant et si bien qu’à la fin plus personne n’y comprend rien (y compris les soi-disant acteurs). Paranoïa, anarchie, absence totale de transparence et de lisibilité, … ; tout est en place pour une dégradation rapide et radicale des relations internationales, sur fond de méfiance croissante des populations pour tout ce qui dépasse le niveau national. Les faits sont d’ailleurs là pour nous en convaincre.

Ce constat pose de manière saillante la question du leadership au niveau global.

En effet, en dépit de la méfiance (ô combien excusable !) portée par l’Occident à toute forme de leadership (« führership ») depuis 1945, il est indéniable qu’il n’y a pas de système démocratique sans « leadership », responsable, transparent, identifiable et accessible. Si l’affaiblissement du leadership au niveau national aboutit en ce moment à une crise du politique, la combinaison leadership/démocratie reste à inventer au niveau transnational en général et au niveau global de manière particulièrement urgente.

En l’absence de réponse à cette question (i.e. de solution appliquée), l’Amérique est en train de mettre en place les bonnes vieilles méthodes du leadership débarrassé de l’impératif démocratique, consistant à imposer par la force les vues d’un seul. Pendant ce temps, les européens dérapent sur les dernières étapes à franchir pour parachever la solution inventée par Jean Monnet il y 50 ans, butant finalement sur la question cruciale du leadership politique d’une entité économique trans-nationale intégrée. [1]

Doit-on en déduire que leadership et démocratie sont incompatibles au niveau trans-national ? Si c’est le cas, voilà de quoi nous inquiéter pour l’avenir de l’homme sur cette terre globalisée ! Sinon, il est impératif de trouver les solutions dont on peut gager :

. qu’elles se situent du côté de l’Europe où une expérience trans-nationale est en cours depuis 50 ans (ce qui nous donne une responsabilité particulièrement lourde) ; . et qu’elles sont en fait partiellement connues mais rendues inapplicables à cause précisément de la crise du politique traversée au niveau national par les différents états-membres de l’UE.

Cette réflexion qui aurait dû occuper les responsables européens au cours de la très sereine décennie 90, se fait maintenant en catastrophe, dans un contexte de crises multiples (impératif de réforme en vue de l’élargissement, montée des extrémismes nationalistes, dégradation de la relation trans-atlantique, choc des civilisations Islam/Chrétienté, crise économique, etc…).

Le retard pris par l’UE dans la mise en place d’une démocratie européenne conçue comme le premier pilier (au sens chronologique) d’une démocratie globale, risque donc de coûter cher à la planète !

 

[1] « gouvernance européenne », « réforme institutionnelle de l’UE »… autant de dénominations politiquement correctes pour un débat qui n’aboutira à rien tant que les européens ne dépasseront pas le tabou qui caractérise leur rapport au pouvoir.

À propos Comcart Collaborator