Home / Europe 2020 / The elliptical debate on the harmonisation of European immigration policy

The elliptical debate on the harmonisation of European immigration policy

by Harald Greib
26/09/2002

For some months now, the Interior Ministers of the Member States of the European Union have been discussing, at their formal or informal meetings, the measures to be taken to combat illegal immigration, immigration that abuses, in most cases, national asylum systems in order to qualify for a precarious residence permit.

This is a political awareness, not of the reality of a significant increase in the number of asylum seekers in Europe since the EU as a whole welcomed fewer asylum seekers in 2002 than Germany alone in 1993, but of the rise in the results of the far-right and even populist parties that have made immigration their electoral battle horse. Even the Heads of State and Government discussed the issue at a summit in Seville under the Spanish Presidency.

There are many proposals for possible actions. Among other things, it includes the project to create a new European agency: a European border control police force – proof of the system’s imagination and unceasing creativity to create new spheres of influence, positions and career opportunities.

It seems pointless to review the various proposals; either they will not be agreed between the Fifteen or they will be discussed (included in an action plan from which an action plan will result, the implementation of which will be presented to the Council in biennial reports) for some time the Community system and then sent to the archives of Brussels to be met there, e. g. (you can guess? indeed:) the action plan to combat illegal immigration of 1998, which has not produced results. This is confirmed by the lack of results produced by the Seville Summit. And who still remembers the long conclusions of the Tampere Summit in October 1999, which focused on the whole aspect of internal security policy.

One of these last political meetings, the meeting of Interior Ministers in Rome on 30 and 31 March, was the subject of a series of articles in Le Monde on 30 May 2002. Almost unanimously, its authors are in favour of harmonising European immigration policy. Some even believe that no national measure would produce any effect without such harmonisation. No argument is put forward to justify this observation on the need for harmonisation of immigration policy. And yet, there are some.

Harmonisation could prevent restrictive measures in one Member State from simply diverting inflows of asylum seekers to the territory of neighbouring Member States; because it is then difficult to see the benefit for Europe. Or it could avoid a negative overbid by Member States trying to become the least attractive Member State for asylum seekers, which could put these Member States in conflict with international law, in particular the Geneva Convention or the European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights. So, indeed, harmonisation might be desirable.

But it is not binding. The harmonisation of a European immigration policy is a political choice and not an absolute necessity. If the United Kingdom is now the first destination for immigrants, it is the result of its reception policy: legal access to the labour market after six months’ residence and the absence of an obligation to carry identity documents. It is therefore up to British politicians to draw the consequences they consider relevant from this reality and to make it the subject of a public debate during the next election campaign – as was the case in Germany in 1993 when that country amended its Constitution to stem the flow of asylum seekers.

Admittedly, Europe could adopt a common policy, a policy that would lay down common rules for granting refugee status, reception conditions (such as legal access to the labour market) and, certainly the most difficult point, the criteria for distributing asylum seekers throughout Europe. This last aspect of a possible common policy is always the subject of fierce debate. But it must be part of an integral immigration policy. Why? Why? To demonstrate a complex problem, nothing beats a concrete example. Here it is:

Chinese smugglers succeed in bringing a large number of Chinese people to Europe. The monthly figure continues to increase. The police are unable to find an effective remedy.

The immigration policy is harmonised. Throughout the Member States, asylum seekers benefit from the same refugee status granting system, access to work, social benefits, etc. Which Member State will the vast majority of Chinese arrivals go to? To France, a Member State with the largest Chinese population in Europe, with newcomers seeking the support of a network of their compatriots. The same phenomenon would occur in the case of immigration from Pakistan, with England as the destination, or from Western Turkey, with Germany as the destination.

France, in a Europe of a harmonised immigration policy, would no longer have the sovereignty to take measures to control this influx by making itself a less attractive destination for asylum seekers. Any possible action, such as lowering social benefits or blocking access to the labour market, should be taken in Brussels. Consequently, it would also be Brussels’ task to ensure that an immigration wave does not constitute an excessive burden for a Member State. Brussels would therefore be obliged to set up a system for distributing asylum seekers throughout Europe.

Whoever says “system of distribution”, says “creation of reception centres”, says “limitations of public freedoms”, says “legal and political debate”, often with xenophobic connotations, then says “complex and difficult democratic debate”. This debate must be structured somewhere, in some institutions. The EU does not have the institutions required for such a debate involving all European public opinion. Consequently, the requirement for harmonisation of immigration policy is equivalent to a requirement to remove this highly sensitive political debate from citizen participation, to increase the democratic deficit in the EU and to entrust the most sensitive competences (need I remind you of the presence of Jean-Marie Le Pen and his zero immigration programme, or even the return of immigrants, in the second round of the presidential election to make this point clear?) to a European technocracy without real political control and democratic transparency.

About Comcart Collaborator

Accueil / Europe 2020 / Le débat elliptique sur une harmonisation de la politique européenne d’immigration

Le débat elliptique sur une harmonisation de la politique européenne d’immigration

par Harald Greib
26/09/2002

 

Depuis quelques mois maintenant, les ministres de l’Intérieur des Etats membres de l’Union européenne ne cessent de discuter , lors de leurs réunion formelles ou informelles, des mesures à prendre pour combattre l’immigration clandestine, une immigration qui abuse, dans la majorité des cas, des systèmes nationaux du droit d’asile pour pouvoir prétendre à un titre de séjour précaire.

Il s’agit là d’une prise de conscience politique, non de la réalité d’un accroissement important du nombre des demandeurs d’asile en Europe puisque l’UE dans son ensemble a accueilli en 2002 moins de demandeurs d’asile que l’Allemagne seule en 1993, mais de la montée des résultats des partis de l’extrême droite voire des populistes qui ont fait de l’immigration leur cheval de bataille électorale. Même les chefs d’états et de gouvernements se sont penchés sur la question lors d’un sommet à Séville sous présidence espagnole.

Les propositions pour d’éventuelles actions sont nombreuses. On y trouve, entre autres, le projet de la création d’une nouvelle agence européenne : un corps de police européenne de contrôle aux frontières – preuve de l’imagination et l’ incessante créativité du système pour se créer de nouveaux sphères d’influence, des postes et des opportunités de carrière.

Il paraît inutile de passer en revue les différentes propositions ; soit elles ne feront pas l’objet d’un accord entres les Quinze, soit elles agiteront (incluses dans un plan d’action dont découlera un tableau de bord dont la mise en œuvre sera présentée au Conseil dans des rapports bisannuels) pendant quelques temps le système communautaire pour ensuite être envoyées aux oubliettes des archives bruxelloises afin d’y rencontrer, p. exp., (vous devinez ? effectivement:) le plan d’action de lutte contre l’immigration clandestine de 1998, resté sans résultat. Ce constat est confirmé par l’absence de résultats produits par le sommet de Séville. Et qui se souvient encore de longues conclusions du sommet de Tampere en octobre 1999, lui consacré à tout le volet de la politique de sécurité intérieure.

L’un de ces derniers rendez-vous politiques, la réunion des ministres de l’Intérieur à Rome les 30 et 31 mars a fait l’objet d’une série d’articles dans Le Monde du 30 mai 2002. Quasiment unanimement, ses auteurs se prononcent en faveur d’une harmonisation de la politique européenne d’immigration. Certains estiment même qu’aucune mesure nationale ne produirait un quelconque effet sans une telle harmonisation. Aucun argument n’est avancé pour justifier ce constat sur la nécessité d’une harmonisation de la politique d’immigration. Et pourtant, il y en a.

Une harmonisation pourrait éviter que les mesures restrictives d’un Etat membre ne fassent que détourner les afflux des demandeurs d’asile vers le territoire d’Etats membres voisins ; car on voit mal alors l’avantage pour l’Europe. Ou encore, elle pourrait éviter une surenchère négative des Etats membres tentant de devenir l’Etat membre le moins attirant pour les demandeurs d’asile, ce que pourrait mettre ces Etats membres en conflit avec le droit international, notamment la Convention de Genève ou la Convention européenne pour la Sauvegarde des droits de l’homme. Alors, en effet, l’harmonisation pourrait être souhaitable.

Mais elle n’est pas contraignante. L’harmonisation d’une politique européenne d’immigration est un choix politique et non une nécessité absolue. Si le Royaume-Uni est aujourd’hui la première destination des immigrés, c’est le résultat de sa politique d’accueil : un accès légal au marché du travail après un délai de six mois de séjour et l’inexistence d’une obligation d’être muni des documents d’identité. Il appartient donc aux politiques britanniques de tirer les conséquences qu’ils estiment pertinentes de cette réalité et d’en faire l’objet d’un débat public lors de la prochaine campagne électorale – comme ceci a été le cas en Allemagne en 1993 quand ce pays a modifié sa Constitution pour endiguer l’afflux des demandeurs d’asile.

Certes, l’Europe pourrait se doter d’une politique commune, une politique qui fixerait des règles communes pour l’octroi du statut de réfugié, les conditions d’accueil (comme notamment l’accès légal au marché du travail) et, le point certainement le plus épineux, les critères de répartition des demandeurs d’asile sur le territoire européen. Ce dernier volet d’une éventuelle politique commune ne manque jamais d’être cause d’âpres débats. Mais il doit faire partie d’une politique intégrale d’immigration. Pourquoi ? Pour faire la démonstration d’un problème complexe, rien ne vaut un exemple concret. Le voici:

Des passeurs chinois réussissent à faire venir un nombre important de Chinois en Europe. Le chiffre mensuel n’arrête pas d’augmenter. La police n’arrive pas à trouver un remède efficace.

La politique d’immigration est harmonisée. Partout dans les Etats membres, les demandeurs d’asile profitent d’un identique système d’octroi du statut de réfugié, du même accès au travail, des mêmes prestations sociales, etc. Vers quel Etat membre se dirigera la vaste majorité des arrivants chinois ? Vers la France, Etat membre avec la plus grande population chinoise en Europe, les nouveaux arrivants cherchant le soutien d’un réseau de leurs compatriotes. Le même phénomène se produirait dans le cas d’une immigration en provenance du Pakistan, avec comme destination l’Angleterre, ou de l’Ouest de la Turquie, avec comme destination l’Allemagne.

La France dans une Europe de politique d’immigration harmonisée n’aurait plus la souveraineté de prendre des mesures afin de contrôler cet afflux en se rendant une destination moins attractive pour les demandeurs d’asile. Toute action possible, comme l’abaissement des prestations sociales ou le barrage de l’accès au marché du travail devrait être prise à Bruxelles. En conséquence, ce serait aussi la tâche de Bruxelles de faire en sorte qu’une vague d’immigration ne constitue pas un fardeau trop lourd pour un Etat membre. Bruxelles serait donc obligé de mettre en place un système de répartition des demandeurs d’asile sur l’ensemble du territoire européen.

Qui dit « système de répartition », dit « création de centre d’accueil » , dit « limitations des libertés publiques », dit « débat juridique et politique », souvent avec des connotations xénophobes, dit alors « débat démocratique complexe et difficile ». Ce débat doit être structuré quelque part, dans quelques institutions. L’UE ne possède pas les institutions requises pour un tel -débat impliquant toute l’opinion publique européenne. Par conséquent, l’exigence d’une harmonisation de la politique d’immigration équivaut à une exigence de soustraire ce débat politique hautement sensible à la participation citoyenne, d’accroître le déficit démocratique dans l’UE et de confier les compétences les plus sensibles qui soient (faut-il rappeler la présence de Jean-Marie Le Pen et de son programme d’immigration zéro, voire de retour des immigrés, au second tour de la présidentielle pour faire comprendre ce point ?) à une technocratie européenne sans véritable contrôle politique ni transparence démocratique.

À propos Comcart Collaborator