Home / Europe 2020 / Franco-German cooperation is reborn from the ashes?

Franco-German cooperation is reborn from the ashes?

by Harald Greib
25/01/2003

We always talked about it and often:

this cooperation between two countries that had overcome their so-called hereditary antagonisms after three wars in less than a century, a cooperation that had made it possible to begin the path towards a peaceful, prosperous and united Europe.

France and Germany were the driving forces behind European integration.

For 25 years, it was talked about with admiration, perhaps sometimes mixed with a hint of jealousy on the part of other countries, which only had to accept the compromises found between these two great European countries.

But at the beginning of the 1990s, the tone changed: the good understanding that gave way to “quarrels” at European summits was over; to mention only the appointment of the President of the European Central Bank at a European Council in Brussels where France wanted, at all costs, to impose its own candidate against the candidate supported by all the other countries.

After these disagreements, always and again the reunion at the Franco-German summits or around a sauerkraut in Blaesheim in Alsace, after the debacle at the Nice summit and his German Chancellor annoyed with the Chirac style of negotiation. But the Blaesheim process (ah, what a sense of formula of our dear diplomats who know how to give a historical character even to a few dirty dishes and a salty addition) ended before its illustrious protagonists returned to their capitals: no agreement on anything, no idea on a common objective, especially not in European politics.

It had to be said that something had broken in the engine.

The accident occurred in the run-up to German reunification, when an aging French president panicked and flew to Moscow to convince Gorbachev to oppose reunification. The German leaders experienced this act as the betrayal of an ally, worse, a friend.

The Maastricht Treaty which followed this period and which set in motion a new phase of deepening European integration was due to the speed at which the European car was travelling when the engine broke: Maastricht was the direct result of reunification and the pledge that Helmut Kohl had to give to François Mitterand in order to obtain his approval from a united Germany.

This is followed by the intergovernmental conferences prior to the Amsterdam and Nice Treaties, which, for lack of the driving force, only give birth to mice: the Commission finds itself with a few more competences, but the European construction does not become more political, and consequently, considering the new competences of the Community, which now decides far from the citizens on such sensitive issues as immigration, increases its democratic deficit.

It is mainly Germany that is absent from the European scene.

On the one hand, it is trying to achieve its regained unity and, on the other hand, is rediscovering its destiny as a transatlantic (again, what diplomatic meaning of formula, we must think about it) rather than a European one. She is entering a beauty contest for the title of most valuable ally of the US in Europe, against the United Kingdom. And she was, perhaps, finally tired of being the horse of a wagon driven by France, to use only one of General de Gaulle’s famous words.

And most recently, a new turning point: France and Germany are once again united to oppose the American war strategy against Saddam Hussein.

Its new turn is – is it historical? It is better to doubt it. It is more the result of an ad hoc alliance, an agreement on a detail, than the result of a well-considered strategy. The agreement reached will not survive the end of the Iraqi crisis.

One only has to look closely at the compromise on the future of the European Union to be convinced: the two partners were able to agree that the EU should now have two presidents, one from the Commission and the other elected by the European Council. Okay, the new Europe will have two presidents, we will have understood this part of the compromise, but two presidents to do what, exactly? Well, to continue to ensure that the European Union remains absent from the international political scene, in the absence of agreement on the essential issues of the future of the common foreign policy, the political and state character of the EU, the balance between Europe’s respective roles and the nation states. This is a compromise that only materialises all the differences in the views of the leaders of two countries on European policy. The new agreement will be as ephemeral as the compromise is superficial.

About Comcart Collaborator

Accueil / Europe 2020 / La coopération franco-allemande renaît de ses cendres?

La coopération franco-allemande renaît de ses cendres?

par Harald Greib
25/01/2003

 

On en parlait toujours et souvent:

cette coopération entre deux pays qui avaient su surmonter leurs antagonismes, dits héréditaires, après trois guerres en moins d’un siècle, une coopération qui avait permis d’entamer le chemin vers une Europe paisible, prospère et unie.

La France et l’Allemagne étaient moteur de l’intégration européenne.

Pendant 25 ans, on en parlait avec admiration, peut-être quelque fois mêlée d’un brin de jalousie de la part d’autres pays auxquels ne restent qu’à accepter les compromis trouvés entre ces deux grands pays d’Europe.

Mais au début des années quatre-vingt-dix, le ton change: finie la bonne entente qui laisse place aux “engueulades” lors des sommets européens; pour ne citer que la nomination du président de la Banque centrale européenne lors d’un Conseil européen à Bruxelles où la France voulait, à tout prix, imposer son propre candidat contre le candidat soutenu par tous les autres pays.

Après ces mésententes, toujours et encore les retrouvailles lors des sommets franco-allemands ou autour d’une choucroute à Blaesheim dans l’Alsace, après la débâcle du sommet de Nice et son Chancelier allemand agacé du style de négociation chiraquienne. Mais le processus de Blaesheim (ah, quel sens de formule de nos chers diplomates qui savent donner un caractère historique même à quelques assiettes sales et une addition salée) s’est terminé avant que ses illustres protagonistes ne rentrent dans leurs capitales: aucune entente sur rien, aucune idée sur un objectif commun, surtout pas en politique européenne.

Force était de constater que quelque chose avait cassé dans le moteur.

L’accident s’est produit en amont de la réunification allemande, quand un président français vieillissant panique et s’envole pour Moscou afin de convaincre Gorbatchev de s’opposer à la réunification. Les dirigeants allemands ont vécu cet acte comme la trahison d’un allié, pire, d’un ami.

Le traité de Maastricht qui suit cette période et qui enclenche une nouvelle phase d’approfondissement de la construction européenne s’explique par la vitesse à laquelle roulait la voiture européenne quand le moteur cassait: Maastricht était le résultat direct de la réunification et le gage qu’a dû donner Helmut Kohl à François Mitterand afin d’obtenir son aval d’une Allemagne réunie.

Suivent les conférences intergouvernementales en amont des traités d’Amsterdam et de Nice qui, faute du moteur n’accouchent que de souris: la Commission se retrouve avec quelques compétences de plus, mais la construction européenne ne devient pas plus politique, et en conséquence, considérant les nouvelles compétences de la Communauté qui statue dorénavant loin des citoyens sur des thèmes aussi sensibles que l’immigration, accroît son déficit démocratique.

C’est surtout l’Allemagne qui est absente de la scène européenne.

D’une part, elle tente de réussir son unité retrouvée et, d’autre part, redécouvre son destin plutôt transatlantique (à nouveau, quel sens diplomatique de formule, il faut y penser) qu’européen. Elle se lance dans un concours de beauté pour le titre de most valuable ally of the US in Europe, face au Royaume-Uni. Et elle en avait, peut-être, enfin marre d’être le cheval d’un chariot conduit par la France, pour ne reprendre qu’une célèbre phrase de Général de Gaulle.

Et tout récemment, un nouveau tournant: la France et l’Allemagne se retrouvent à nouveau unies pour s’opposer à la stratégie guerrière des américains face à Saddam Hussein.

Son nouveau tournant est – il historique ? Il vaut mieux d’en douter. Il est plutôt le résultat d’une alliance de circonstance, une entente concernant un détail, que le fruit d’une stratégie amplement réfléchie. L’entente retrouvée ne survivra pas à la fin de la crise irakienne.

Il suffit de regarder de près le compromis sur l’avenir de l’Union européenne pour en être convaincu: les deux partenaires ont pu se mettre d’accord que dorénavant l’UE soit munie de deux présidents, celui de la Commission et d’un second élu par le Conseil européen. D’accord, la nouvelle Europe aura deux présidents, on aura compris cette partie du compromis, mais deux présidents pour faire quoi, au juste? Eh bien, pour continuer à faire en sorte que l’Union européenne reste absente de la scène politique internationale, faute d’une entente sur les questions essentielles qui sont l’avenir de la politique étrangère commune, le caractère politique et étatique de l’UE, l’équilibre entre les rôles respectives de l’Europe et les états-nations. Il s’agit d’un compromis qui ne fait que matérialiser toutes les différences de vue des dirigeants de deux pays sur la politique européenne. La nouvelle entente sera aussi éphémère que le compromis n’est superficiel.

À propos Comcart Collaborator